Skip to content

A Blog is a What??

3.8.09

After reading a blog by Marc Hausman about the lack of social media education in universities, I realized how lucky I am to be part of a journalism program that actually teaches social media. He spoke in a class and polled the students about whether or not they wrote or even read a blog before and NO ONE raised their hand! Learning how to use social media tools is extremely beneficial and my confidence has risen after discovering that few programs focus on this aspect of public relations.

I knew going into the University of Oregon that their School of Journalism and Communications was highly respected throughout the country and I feel a sense of pride in that. Now to know that few schools teach their students specifically about PR tactics, I am beaming! My current public relations professor and creater of PRos In Training, Kelli Matthews, is my social media guru. If it weren’t for her, I would never have opened a Twitter account or revisited my blog. In fact, she is proposing to teach a course about social media for the journalism school this spring! Unfortunately, I’m graduating in the Winter so I won’t get to take it, but I think it’s phenomenal progress and I’m very proud that this is a course offering!

It’s interesting seeing how my portfolio will look compared to portfolios of grads of just four years ago. Theirs were probably filled with traditional media relations pieces, wheras mine will be a smorgasbord of traditional PR mixed with screen shots of blog posts and Tweets. It’s insane! I do feel that I am ahead of the crowd a bit by being involved in such social media outlets and I hope it will benefit me in the long run!

Any thoughts??

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Staci Stringer permalink
    3.8.09 5:30 am

    Hi Stacey,
    I’m also a recent grad of UO and one of Kelli’s former students. Having just landed a job through my knowledge of social media I can’t tell you how much it helps to just participate and begin relationships with professionals! You’re in a great spot right now. Take in as much as you can and step out of your comfort zone when it comes to social media- I promise it will pay off in the end!
    Enjoy what time you have left in college and good luck with your career!

  2. Stiggs permalink
    3.8.09 5:42 pm

    Thanks Staci,

    It’s exciting to hear that a recent grad is doing so well, especially using social media. Thanks for the advice, I’ll be sure to use it!

Leave a Reply

