Skip to content

Looks Like Someone’s Got a Case of the MONDAYS

3.8.09

Yep.

Right here. Best case of Monday’s all term. I hate to be one of those bloggers who only bitches about their day, but I’m going to have to wear that hat today. My first human contact of the day was with an auto mechanic at 7:30. Then I walked to class in the rain after being told I would be shuttled (ok, it’s only like a 7 minute walk, but at 7:45 in the rain, it sucks). Then I waited in a doctor’s office–no, the ROOM– for 40 minutes waiting to ask a question that took 5 minutes. It gets better, I swear.

Next, I had to deal with my stupid diversion class. No, I’m not a drug addict. Here in Oregon they have something called an M.I.P (Minor in possession). I was at my friend’s house and actually about to leave with my roommate when cops come to the door. They come in and when they ask if I drank, I felt no shame and admitted to my 2 glasses of wine consumed hours prior to their arrival. I got a violation for being a minor in possession of alcohol (in my tummy). I wasn’t even drunk. At all. I was lightheaded from the two cigarettes I smoked earlier because I don’t typically smoke, but definitely not drunk. So I go to COURT last week where I find out I can sign up for an 8-hour class so I maintain a clean record. Turns out all the classes are offered after I move back home to California. Now I have to try to find a class with an similar curriculum. BUT apparently it’s impossible BECAUSE CALIFORNIA DOES NOT ISSUE M.I.PS!!! It’s an Oregon thing. So now I have to contact a probation officer in CA and go to court to see if I can get the judge to allow me to do a class in the Bay. OR I can Greyhound it 3 hours North and sleep in the bus station the weekend before finals (of which I have 2 on that Monday and one on Tuesday) to take a class up there. OR I can pay a $250 fine and have it on my record. ALL FOR DRINKING 2 GLASSES OF WINE PEOPLE. I turn 21 in 6 months.

Here I am crying in my office at work (I left my cell at home and didn’t ride my bike because I drove my car to the shop and it takes 30 minutes round trip to walk home) because I am frustrated. Then I get a call from the mechanic telling me (I’m sniffling, mind you) my–what was supposed to be $71–job is now $500. WHAT?! Now I am out of control. I step out, try to contain myself, and go to legal services just up the stairs–in tears. After making a fool out of myself at work , and now at Legal Services, I wash my face and go back to my office. After missing class because I was trying to figure out my legal issues, I get a glimmer of hope. A client called in and wanted to run two full page full color ads next week. $2000 more into November. CHA CHING!

But now I have to go to court at 8AM tomorrow because the 1PM interferes with my 2PM class, which I missed last Thursday because of my stupid court date. I may go on Wednesday instead because if I go tomorrow I won’t have an alternate class prepared yet and I don’t want to make a fool out of myself. So I guess I won’t be driving home at 9AM on Wednesday after all… Thank God it’s a short week.

I’d better start reading like crazy; I have a 10 page paper due next Thursday and three finals, a portfolio, and some internships to apply for. Wish me luck.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

